Editors & Editorial Advisory Board

Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society


Mark Hubbard, Eastern Illinois University, Charleston

Contributing Editor

William Furry, Illinois State Historical Society, Springfield

Book Review Editor

Timothy D. Draper, Waubonsee Community College, Sugar Grove


Editorial Advisory Board

Terry Barnhart, Eastern Illinois University, Charleston

Maureen Flanagan, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI

Robert I. Girardi, Civil War Round Table, Company of Military Historians, Chicago

Theodore J. Karamanski, Loyola University Chicago

Ann Durkin Keating, North Central College, Naperville

Pierre Lebeau, North Central College, Naperville

Arthur Martin, Jenner & Block, LLP, Chicago

Robert McColley, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Dominic Pacyga, Columbia College, Chicago

Shirley J. Portwood, Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville

Barbara M. Posadas, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb

Debra Reid, Eastern Illinois University, Charleston

David W. Scott, Chair, Publications Committee, Illinois State Historical Society, Springfield


Layout and Design

Nancy Salefski, William Street Press, Decatur



William Furry, Executive Director

Mary Lou Johnsrud, Office Manager

Connie Budberg-Speck, Clerical Operations





Related Titles

previous book next book
We Are What We Drink

The Temperance Battle in Minnesota

Sabine N. Meyer

The Land of Milk and Uncle Honey

Memories from the Farm of My Youth

Alan Guebert with Mary Grace Foxwell

Becoming Beautiful

Ballroom Dance in the American Heartland

Joanna Bosse

Midwest Maize

How Corn Shaped the U.S. Heartland

Cynthia Clampitt

Fostering on the Farm

Child Placement in the Rural Midwest

Megan Birk

Corrupt Illinois

Patronage, Cronyism, and Criminality

Thomas J. Gradel and Dick Simpson

St. Louis Rising

The French Regime of Louis St. Ange de Bellerive

Carl J. Ekberg and Sharon K. Person


Reinventing the Postindustrial City

Edited by Paul Hardin Kapp and Paul J. Armstrong

Mary Lincoln's Insanity Case

A Documentary History

Jason Emerson

The Negro in Illinois

The WPA Papers

Edited by Brian Dolinar