Browse Award Winners

The Historian's Lincoln

Winner of the Barondess/Lincoln Award of the Civil War Round Table of New York, 1989.

Author: Edited by Gabor S. Boritt

Ninety-nine Gnats, Nits, and Nibblers

Cited by LIBRARY JOURNAL as one of its "Best Sci-Tech Books" of 1989

Author: May R. Berenbaum

Mormonism and Music

Winner of the Award in Criticism from the Association for Mormon Letters, 1989.

Author: Michael Hicks


2nd Place from the Pauline Alderman Prize for New Scholarship on Women in Music from the International Congress on Women in Music. Winner of an ASCAP Deems Taylor Award, 1989.

Author: Judith Vander

Civil Wars

Winner of the 1989 Jefferson Davis Award of the Museum of the Confederacy, 1989. Winner of the Julia Cherry Spruill Prize of the Southern Association of Women Historians, 1991.

Author: George C. Rable

Workers on the Waterfront

Winner of the Frederick Jackson Turner Award of the Organization of American Historians, 1989.

Author: Bruce Nelson

Joseph Smith III

Winner of the John Whitmer History Association Best Book Award, 1989. Winner of the David Woolley Evans and Beatrice Evans Biography Award, 1989.

Author: Roger D. Launius

Platte River Road Narratives

Winner of an Honorable Mention from the Professional and Scholarly Publishing Association and a 1989 Western Heritage Award for Significant Scholarly Research and selected for the 1990 ALA "Best Bibliographies in History" list

Author: Merrill J. Mattes

America's Music

Winner of a Special Commendation from the Sonneck Society, 1989. (Cf. Society for American Music)

Author: Gilbert Chase

The Woman Detective

Winner of the Emily Toth Award of the Womens Caucus for Popular Culture of the Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association, 1989.

Author: Kathleen Gregory Klein

Zion in the Courts

Winner of the Alpha Sigma Nu Book Award, 1989.

Author: Edwin Brown Firmage and Richard Collin Mangrum