Browse Award Winners

Women in Iran from the Rise of Islam to 1800

A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title, 2005.

Author: Edited by Guity Nashat and Lois Beck

Robert Johnson

A Choice Outstanding Academic Title, 2005.

Author: Barry Lee Pearson and Bill McCulloch

Lost Sounds

Winner of an ASCAP Deems Taylor Award, 2005. Winner of the ARSC Award for Best Research in General History of Recorded Sound, 2005. Winner of the Irving Lowens Award, given by the Society for American Music for the best work published in 2004 in the field of American music. Tim Brooks received the Association for Recorded Sound Collections (ARSC) Lifetime Achievement Award, 2004.

Author: Tim Brooks

The Japanese in Latin America

A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title, 2005.

Author: Daniel M. Masterson with Sayaka Funada-Classen

From Charity to Social Work

A Choice Outstanding Academic Title, 2005.

Author: Elizabeth N. Agnew

Robert Johnson, Mythmaking, and Contemporary American Culture

Certificate of Merit for Best Research in Recorded Blues by the Association for Recorded Sound Collections (ARSC), 2005.

Author: Patricia R. Schroeder

High Mountains Rising

Appalachian Writers Association, Appalachian Book of the Year Award in Nonfiction, 2005. Winner of the Thomas Wolfe Memorial Literary Award, 2005.

Author: Edited by Richard A. Straw and H. Tyler Blethen

Radical Origins

Smith-Petit Best First Book Award from the Mormon History Association, 2005.

Author: Val D. Rust

Renaissance Beasts

A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title, 2005.

Author: Edited by Erica Fudge

No Lonesome Road

American Book Award, given by the Before Columbus Foundation, 2005.

Author: Don West

Rhythm & Booze

Selected by Maxine Kumin as one of five volumes published in 2003 in the National Poetry Series. Finalist for the 2005 Poets Prize.

Author: Julie Kane

The Making of a Lynching Culture

Winner of the Richard L. Wentworth Prize in American History, 2005.

Author: William D. Carrigan

His Brother's Blood

Award of Superior Achievement, The Illinois State Historical Society, 2005.

Author: Owen Lovejoy

Investigated Reporting

Recipient of the Frank Luther Mott--Kappa Tau Alpha Research Award at the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication meeting (2006); Recipient of the 2006 History Division Book Award of the AEJMC; and winner of the 2005 Donald McGannon Award for Social and Ethical Relevance in Communications Policy Research.

Author: Chad Raphael

Ethnic Leadership and Midwestern Politics

Named a Wisconsin Historical Society Book Award of Merit, 2005.

Author: Jørn Brøndal

The Black Cow's Footprint

Winner of the 2005 Edward Cameron Dimock, Jr. Prize in the Humanities of the American Institute of Indian Studies.

Author: Richard K. Wolf