Cover for Kraus: George Szell's Reign: Behind the Scenes with the Cleveland Orchestra. Click for larger image
Ebook Information

George Szell's Reign

Behind the Scenes with the Cleveland Orchestra

Shaping dissonance into beauty with the master conductor

George Szell was the Cleveland Orchestra’s towering presence for over a quarter of a century. From the boardroom to the stage, Szell’s powerful personality affected every aspect of a musical institution he reshaped in his own perfectionist image.

Marcia Hansen Kraus’s participation in Cleveland’s classical musical scene allowed her an intimate view of Szell and his achievements. A musician herself, and married to an oboist who worked under Szell, Kraus pulls back the curtain on this storied era through fascinating interviews with orchestra musicians and patrons. Their recollections combine with Kraus’s own to paint a portrait of a multifaceted individual who both earned and transcended his tyrannical reputation. If some musicians hated Szell, others loved him or at the least respected his fair-minded toughness. A great many remember playing under his difficult leadership as the high point in their professional lives.

Filled with vivid backstage stories, George Szell’s Reign reveals the human side of a great orchestra—and how one visionary built a premier classical music institution.

“Kraus has collected a multitude of telling personal accounts. Charming and illuminating anecdotes that depict interactions among the players and between individual players and the maestro abound, along with sometimes humorous and sometimes harsh instances of Szell’s behavior.”--Mary Sue Welsh, author of One Woman in a Hundred: Edna Phillips and the Philadelphia Orchestra

Marcia Hansen Kraus is a musician and composer in Cleveland, Ohio.

To order online:

To order by phone:
(800) 621-2736 (USA/Canada)
(773) 702-7000 (International)

Related Titles

previous book next book
Bound for America

Three British Composers

Nicholas Temperley

Bach Perspectives, Volume 11

J. S. Bach and His Sons

Edited by Mary Oleskiewicz

Beyond Bach

Music and Everyday Life in the Eighteenth Century

Andrew Talle

Exploring the World of J. S. Bach

A Traveler’s Guide

Robert L. Marshall and Traute M. Marshall

Gallus Dressler's Praecepta musicae poeticae

New Critical Text, Translation, Annotations, and Indices by Robert Forgács

In Her Own Words

Conversations with Composers in the United States

Jennifer Kelly

Music and the Moving Image

Edited by Gillian B. Anderson & Ronald H. Sadoff

Chorus and Community

Edited by Karen Ahlquist

Alec Wilder

Philip Lambert

Black Women and Music

More than the Blues

Edited by Eileen M. Hayes and Linda F. Williams

Charles Ives's Concord

Essays after a Sonata

Kyle Gann

English Pastoral Music

From Arcadia to Utopia, 1900-1955

Eric Saylor

Elliott Carter

James Wierzbicki

American Music

Edited by Neil Lerner

Bach Perspectives, Volume 10

Bach and the Organ

Edited by Matthew Dirst

Libby Larsen

Composing an American Life

Denise Von Glahn

George Szell's Reign ebook is available for immediate download from the following vendors: