Ryan Ebright Awarded ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/Virgil Thompson Award

The University of Illinois Press is excited to congratulate Ryan Ebright on his ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/Virgil Thompson Award.

“Established in 1967 to honor the memory of composer, critic and commentator Deems Taylor, who died in 1966 after a distinguished career that included six years as President of ASCAP, The ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/Virgil Thomson Awards are made possible by the generous support of the Virgil Thomson Foundation. Virgil Thomson (1896 – 1989) was one of the leading American composers and critics of the 20th century, and a former member of the ASCAP Board of Directors.”

Ryan Ebright’s article “‘My Answer to What Music Theatre Can Be:’ Iconoclasm and Entrepreneurship in Steve Reich and Beryl Korot’s The Cave” in American Music, can be accessed on JSTOR and Project MUSE. It will be open access for 30 days.

Access on JSTOR here.



About Heather Gernenz

University of Illinois Press Publicity Manager