2018 NWSA/UIP First Book Prize: Call for Papers

Call for Papers for the 2018 NWSA/UIP First Book Prize

The University of Illinois Press and the National Women’s Studies Association (NWSA) are pleased to continue the annual competition for the best dissertation or first book manuscript by a single author in the field of women’s and gender studies. Applicants must be National Women’s Studies Association members. The Press and NWSA seek nonfiction manuscripts that exemplify cutting-edge intersectional feminist scholarship, whether the area of focus is historical or contemporary. The competition is open to scholars from all disciplinary backgrounds, but the sponsoring organizations especially encourage work that speaks effectively across disciplines, and projects that offer new perspectives on concerns central to the field of women’s and gender studies.

Possible topics may include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Activism
  • Colonialitypostcoloniality and neo-imperialism
  • Cultural production (media, film, music, literature)
  • Feminist knowledge production
  • Feminist pedagogy
  • Feminist politics
  • Feminist science and environmental studies
  • Feminist theory
  • Gender and disability
  • Gender and globalization
  • Gender and labor practices
  • Gender and militarism
  • Gender and queer sexuality
  • Gender and violence
  • Gendered experiences of people of color
  • Girls studies
  • Global and transnational feminisms
  • Institutions and public policies
  • Intersectionality
  • Theories and practices of coalition
  • Transgender studies
  • Women of color feminisms

If a winner of the competition is selected, he or she will receive a publication contract with the University of Illinois Press and a $1,000 advance. Runners up may also be considered for publication with the University of Illinois Press. Submitted dissertations must have been completed and defended within the three years prior to submission. All submissions must be must be electronically submitted and timestamped by 11:59pm (central time) on June 1.

For submission instructions and to learn more about the NWSA/UIP First Book Prize, click here.

Please direct all questions and submissions to:

Dawn Durante
Senior Acquisitions Editor
University of Illinois Press

Past Book Prize Winners:

2017 Winner: Nicosia M. ShakesGender, Race and Performance Space: Women’s Activism in Jamaican and South African Theatre

2017 Honorable Mention: Elizabeth VerklanObjects of Desire: Feminist Inquiry, Transnational Feminism, and Global Fashion

2016 Winner: Michele EggersEmbodying Inequality: The Criminalization of Women for Abortion in Chile

2015 Winner: Erin L. Durban-AlbrechtPostcolonial Homophobia: United States Imperialism in Haiti and the Transnational Circulation of Antigay Sexual Politics

2014 Winner: Ethel TungohanMigrant Care Worker Activism in Canada: From the Politics of Everyday Resistance to the Politics from Below

2013 Winner: Christina Holmes, Ecological Borderlands: Body, Nature, and Spirit in Chicana Feminism







2012 Winner: Sophia Richter-Devroe, Women’s Political Activism in Palestine: Peacebuilding, Resistance, and Survival







2011 Winner: Erica Lorraine Williams, Sex Tourism in Bahia: Ambiguous Entanglements








About michael

Marketing & Sales Manager since 2012