Browse Award Winners

Unsecular Media

A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title, 1997.

Author: Mark Silk

Feminism and Social Change

A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title, 1997.

Author: Edited by Heidi Gottfried

Steppin' on the Blues

Special Citation from the de la Torre Bueno Prize of the Dance Perspectives Foundation, 1997. A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title, 1998.

Author: Jacqui Malone

Contented among Strangers

Winner of the Missouri Conference on History Book Prize, 1997.

Author: Linda Schelbitzki Pickle


Recipient of the ARSC Award for Excellence in Historical Recorded Sound Research in the Field of Recorded Rock, Rhythm and Blues, or Soul, 1997.

Author: Robert Pruter

Same-Sex Dynamics among Nineteenth-Century Americans

Winner of the Herbert Feis Award from the American Historical Association, 1997.

Author: D. Michael Quinn

Affirmative Action and the Stalled Quest for Black Progress

Winner of the Outstanding Book Award from the National Conference of Black Political Scientists, 1997.

Author: W. Avon Drake and Robert D. Holsworth

"We Are All Leaders"

Contains the Bryant Spann Memorial Prize in Literature for 1997, an award-winning essay, "The Very Last Hurrah" by Eric Leif Davin

Author: Edited by Staughton Lynd

Freedom's Port

Co-winner of the Maryland Historical Society Book Award, 1997.

Author: Christopher Phillips

'Twas Only an Irishman's Dream

Winner of the ASCAP Deems Taylor Award in the Pop Books category, 1997.

Author: William H. A. Williams

Walt Whitman Bathing

Winner of a Ohioana Book Award in the category of poetry, 1997.

Author: David Wagoner

Two-Spirit People

Winner of the Ruth Benedict Prize for an edited book given by the Society of Lesbian and Gay Anthropologists, 1997.

Author: Edited by Sue-Ellen Jacobs; Wesley Thomas; and Sabine Lang


Sadoff is recipient of the Jerome J. Shestack Prize given by the American Poetry Review for the best poem(s) published in the magazine, 1997.

Author: Ira Sadoff