Browse Award Winners

Creating Born Criminals

Winner of the Hervey B. Wilbur Historic Preservation Award given by the American Association on Mental Retardation, 1999.

Author: Nicole Hahn Rafter

Peasants Wake for Fellini's *Casanova* and Other Poems

Winner of the Raiziss/de Palchi Award for the best translation of modern Italian poetry, 1999. Chosen as a winner of the AAUP Book, Jacket, and Journal Show in the typographic category, 1998.

Author: Andrea Zanzotto

Power to Hurt

A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title, 1999.

Author: William Monroe

All That Glitters

A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title, 1999. Winner of the Rodman W. Paul Award for Outstanding Contributions to Mining History, 1999.

Author: Elizabeth Jameson

Print Culture in a Diverse America

Winner of the Carey McWilliams Award given by MultiCultural Review, 1999.

Author: Edited by James P. Danky and Wayne A. Wiegand

Roots of Disorder

Winner of the McLemore Prize, given by the Mississippi Historical Society, 1999.

Author: Christopher Waldrep

Tales of Wayward Girls and Immoral Women

A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title, 1999.

Author: Karen W. Tice

Faith and Meaning in the Southern Uplands

Winner of the W. D. Weatherford Award, given by Berea College, 1999.

Author: Loyal Jones

The Storytellers' Journey

An Anne Izard Storytellers Choice Award winner for notable storytelling resources published in 1999. Winner of a Storytelling World Award in the Special Storytelling Resources category.

Author: Joseph Daniel Sobol

The Bottom Rung

Winner of the Otis Dudley Duncan Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Sociological Demography, Sociology of Population Section of the American Sociological Association, 1999.

Author: Stewart E. Tolnay


Winner of the Richard L. Wentworth Prize in American History, 1999.

Author: Kimberley L. Phillips

Rich Media, Poor Democracy: Communication Politics in Dubious Times

Winner of the Goldsmith Book Prize, 1999. Recipient of the Frank Luther Mott-Kappa Tau Alpha Research Award, 1999. Winner of the ICA Fellows Book Award, 2008.

Author: Robert W. McChesney

Red Grange and the Rise of Modern Football

Winner of the North American Society for Sport History Book Award, 1999.

Author: John M. Carroll

Places of Grace

Great Lakes Book Awards, 1999.

Author: Photographs by Gary Irving; Essay by Michal Strutin