Browse Award Winners

Peruvian Street Lives

Cited as one of two Leeds Honor Books for 2006 by the Society for Urban, National, and Transnational/Global Anthropology (SUNTA).

Author: Linda J. Seligmann

French Gay Modernism

A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title, 2006.

Author: Lawrence R. Schehr

Sport, Play, and Ethical Reflection

A Choice Outstanding Academic Title, 2006.

Author: Randolph Feezell

Fritz Reiner, Maestro and Martinet

Recipient of an ASCAP Deems Taylor award in the classical music category (2006).

Author: Kenneth Morgan

The Rural Face of White Supremacy

A Choice Outstanding Academic Title, 2006.

Author: Mark Schultz

African Americans in the Furniture City

Winner of a State History Award in the University and Commercial Press category from the Historical Society of Michigan (2006).

Author: Randal Maurice Jelks

Peter Cartwright, Legendary Frontier Preacher

Winner of the first annual Saddlebag Award, given by the Historical Society of the United Methodist Church (2006).

Author: Robert Bray

Habits of Compassion

Co-winner of the 2006 First Book Prize of the Berkshire Conference of Women Historians.

Author: Maureen Fitzgerald

Going Indian

Co-winner of the James Mooney Award, presented at the Southern Anthropological Society meeting. This award honors distinguished anthropological scholarship on the South and Southerners published in the previous two calendar years (2005 & 2006).

Author: James Hamill

American Ghost Roses

Recipient of a Society of Midland Authors award for poetry published in 2005 (2006).

Author: Kevin Stein

Come Hither to Go Yonder

Bob Black was named the International Bluegrass Music Association Print Media Personality of the Year for his book (2006).

Author: Bob Black

Never Seen the Moon

Winner of the Thomas and Lillie D. Chaffin Celebration of Appalachian Writing Award (2006) and the W. D. Weatherford Award for Non-fiction in Appalachian Studies (2005).

Author: Sharon Hatfield

Peking Opera and Politics in Taiwan

Recipient of an ASCAP Deems Taylor award for ethnomusicology (2006). A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title, 2006.

Author: Nancy Guy

Dewey and Elvis

A Choice Outstanding Academic Title, 2006

Author: Louis Cantor

The Tribe of Black Ulysses

Winner of the H. L. Mitchell Award (2006) given by the Southern History Association and the Richard L. Wentworth Prize in American History (2005)

Author: William P. Jones

Dancing Wisdom

Winner of the de la Torre Bueno Prize (2006).

Author: Yvonne Daniel

In the Sierra Madre

Winner of the Gold medal in the Travel Essays Category for the 2006 ForeWord Book of the Year Awards contest.

Author: Jeff Biggers