Browse Award Winners

Red River Blues

• Winner, ASCAP Deems Taylor Award, 1987
• Winner, Classic of Blues Literature, The Blues Foundation, 2022

Author: Bruce Bastin

Bill Monroe

• Winner, Distinguished Achievement Award, IBMA Industry Awards, 2023

Author: Tom Ewing

The Heart of a Woman

• Honorable Mention, Irving Lowens Book Award, Society for American Music, 2022
• Book Prize Winner, Pauline Alderman Award for Outstanding Scholarship on Women in Music, International Alliance for Women in Music, 2022

Author: Rae Linda Brown Edited and with a Foreword by Guthrie P. Ramsey Jr.

Madam C. J. Walker’s Gospel of Giving

• A 2020 Seminary Co-op Notable Book
• Winner, The AFP/Skystone Partners Prize for Research on Fundraising and Philanthropy, Association of Fundraising Professionals, 2021
• Winner, Terry McAdam Book Award, Alliance for Nonprofit Management, 2021
• Winner, Dan David Prize, endowed by the Dan David Foundation, 2022
• Winner, Peter Dobkin Hall History of Philanthropy Prize, Association for Research on Nonprofit and Voluntary Action, 2023

Author: Tyrone McKinley Freeman

Chen Yi

>• Leila Webster Memorial Music Award, Pauline Alderman Award for Outstanding Scholarship on Women in Music, International Alliance for Women in Music, 2022

Author: Leta E. Miller and J. Michele Edwards

Julia de Burgos

• Silver Award, Best Latina Themed Book category, and Honorable Mention, Dolores Huerta Best Cultural and Community Themed Book, 25th International Latino Book Awards, 2023

Author: Vanessa Pérez-Rosario

From Slave Cabins to the White House

A Ms. Magazine Best Book of 2020
A Black Perspectives Best Black History Book of 2020
• Choice Outstanding Academic Title, 2021
• Honoree, Progressive Womens Voices IMPACT Award, Womens Media Center, Womens Media Awards, 2023

Author: Koritha Mitchell

Puerto Rican Chicago

• Winner, Critics Choice Book Award, American Educational Studies Association, 2023

Author: Mirelsie Velázquez

A House for the Struggle

• Winner, Jane Jacobs Urban Communication Book Award, 2022
• Winner, ULCCs Outstanding Book on the History of Chicago 2023 Award, Union League Club of Chicago, 2023
• Honorable Mention, 2021-22 RSAP Book Prize, Research Society for American Periodicals, 2023
• Winner, Superior Achievement, Best of Illinois History, Illinois State Historical Society Awards, 2023
• Winner, Michael Nelson Prize of IAMHIST, International Association for Media and History, 2023
• Winner, Book of the Year, American Journalism Historians Association, 2023
• Winner, BAAS Book Prize, British Association for American Studies, 2023
• Winner of the 2023 The Brinck Book Award and Lecture series, created in honor of John Brinckerhoff Jackson, by the University of New Mexico School of Architecture + Planning, 2023

Author: E. James West

Making the MexiRican City

• Choice Outstanding Academic Title, 2023

Author: Delia Fernández-Jones

Fear of a Black Republic

• Honorary Mention, Haiti Book Prize, Haitian Studies Association, 2023
• Winner, Pauli Murray Book Prize, African American Intellectual History Society (AAIHS), 2023

Author: Leslie M. Alexander

Riding Jane Crow

• Honorable Mention, Mary Nickliss Prize in U.S. Womens and/or Gender History, Organization of American Historians, 2023
• Honorable Mention, Letitia Woods Brown Book Award, Association of Black Women Historians, 2023

Author: Miriam Thaggert

Mormon Women at the Crossroads

• Winner, Best International Book Award, Mormon History Association, 2023

Author: Caroline Kline

Graceland Cemetery

• Chosen, 2024 Illinois Reads Program, Illinois Reading Council

Author: Adam Selzer

Food Instagram

• Winner, Edited Volume Award, Association for the Study of Food and Society, 2023

Author: Edited by Emily J. H. Contois and Zenia Kish