Browse Award Winners

The Sexual Politics of Empire

• Winner, Lambda Literary Award for Best Book in LGBTQ+ Studies, 2024

Author: Erin L. Durban

Knowing Him by Heart

• Winner, Abraham Lincoln Institute Book Award, 2024

Author: Edited by Fred Lee Hord and Matthew D. Norman

Chicago Skyscrapers, 1934-1986

• Winner, The Pattis Family Foundation Chicago Book Award, The Newberry Library and The Pattis Family Foundation, 2024

Author: Thomas Leslie

Danzon Days

• Winner, BFE Book Prize, British Forum for Ethnomusicology, 2024

Author: Hettie Malcomson

Mr. Associated Press

• Finalist, AEJMC Tankard Book Award, Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, 2024

Author: Gene Allen

Shadow of the New Deal

• Winner, BEA Book Award, Broadcast Education Association, 2024
• Finalist, New Deal Book Award, Living New Deal, 2024
• Runner-Up, History Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication Book Award (AEJMC), 20244
• Runner Up, AJHA Book of the Year, American Journalism Historians Association, 2024

Author: Josh Shepperd

Strong Winds and Widow Makers

• Winner, Philip Taft Labor History Book Prize, Cornell Universitys ILR School and LAWCHA, 2023
• Co-winner, Pacific Coast Branch Book Award, 2023
• Finalist, Frances Fuller Victor Award for General Nonfiction, Literary Arts, Oregon Book Awards, 2024

Author: Steven C. Beda

Queer Country

•A Pitchfork Best Music Book of 2022
• A No Depression Most Memorable Music Book of 2022
• A Variety Best Music Book of 2022
• A Boot Best Music Book of 2022
• A Ticketmaster Best Music Book of 2022
• A Happy Magazine Best Music Book of 2022
• Certificate of Merit, Best Historical Research in Country, Folk, Roots or World Music. category, 2023 ARSC Awards for Excellence in Historical Recorded Sound Research, 2023
• Winner, Woody Guthrie First Book Award, International Association for the Study of Popular Music-US Branch (IASPM-US), 2024

Author: Shana Goldin-Perschbacher

Harry Bridges

• Honorable Mention, ILHA Book of the Year, International Labor History Association, 2023
• Silver Medal, Regional 08, West Pacific Non-Fiction, Independent Publisher Book Awards, 2024

Author: Robert W. Cherny

Prairie Up

• Honorable Mention, AHS Book Awards, American Horticultural Society, 2024

Author: Benjamin Vogt

Ballists, Dead Beats, and Muffins

• Co-winner, Russell P. Strange Book of the Year Award, Illinois State Historical Society, 2024

Author: Robert D. Sampson

Care Activism

• Short-List, Donald Smiley Prize, 2024

Author: Ethel Tungohan