Browse Award Winners

Islanders in the Empire

• Best Book Award in History, Filipino Section of the Association for Asian American Studies, 2018

Author: JoAnna Poblete

Building Filipino Hawai‘i

• Best Book Award in the Social Sciences, Filipino Section of the Association for Asian American Studies, 2018

Author: Roderick N. Labrador

Chicana/o and Latina/o Fiction

• NACCS Book Award, National Association for Chicana and Chicano Studies, 2018
• MLA Prize in United States Latina and Latino and Chicana and Chicano Literary and Cultural Studies, Modern Language Association, 2017

Author: Ylce Irizarry

Beyond Respectability

• Merle Curti Intellectual History Award, Organization of American Historians (OAH), 2018
• A Choice Outstanding Title, 2018; One of Zora Magazines 100 Best Books by African American Women Authors

Author: Brittney C. Cooper

Black Girlhood in the Nineteenth Century

• Honor Book Award from the Children’s Literature Association

Author: Nazera Sadiq Wright

Six Minutes in Berlin

• Broadcast Historian Award, Library of American Broadcasting Foundation (LABF) and the Broadcast Education Association (BEA), 2018

Author: Michael J. Socolow

Building New Banjos for an Old-Time World

• Klaus P. Wachsmann Prize for Advanced and Critical Essays in Organology, the Society for Ethnomusicology (SEM), 2018

Author: Richard Jones-Bamman

Newspaper Wars

• George C. Rogers Jr. Award, South Carolina Historical Society, 2018

Author: Sid Bedingfield

The Media Commons

• Book of the Year, Global Communication and Social Change Division of the International Communication Association (ICA), 2018

Author: Patrick D. Murphy

Teacher Strike!

• First Book Award, International Standing Conference for the History of Education, 2018
• Herbert G. Gutman Award, Labor and Working-­Class History Association (LAWCHA), 2014

Author: Jon Shelton

Iain M. Banks

• BSFA Award for Best Non-Fiction, British Science Fiction Association, 2018
• Finalist, Hugo Award for Best Related Work, 2018
• Locus Recommended Reading List, 2017

Author: Paul Kincaid

Making an Antislavery Nation

• Finalist, Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize, Gettysburg College and the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, 2018
• Russell P. Strange Memorial Book Award, Illinois State Historical Society, 2018

Author: Graham A. Peck


• A Choice Outstanding Title, 2018

Author: Peter N. Stearns

Bluegrass Generation

• Bluegrass Print/Media Person of the Year from the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), 2018

Author: Neil V. Rosenberg


• A Choice Outstanding Title, 2018

Author: Jane M. Gaines

Just One of the Boys

• Marcia Herndon Book Award, Gender and Sexualities Section, Society for Ethnomusicology, 2018

Author: Gillian M. Rodger

Race News

• AEJMC History Division Book Award, Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, 2018

Author: Fred Carroll

Blood, Sweat, and Fear

• Cugnot Award, the Society of Automotive Historians, 2018

Author: Jeremy Milloy